Outstanding Book Award

Call for Submissions:

​This award recognizes the most outstanding book on the history of education published during the previous year. This includes work on schooling as well as educational institutions and processes more broadly, concerning the U.S. and/or other locations. Only books copyrighted in 2022 are eligible for consideration for the 2023 prize.

Criteria used to evaluate the books include:

  • Originality of the study;
  • Thoroughness of the research/scholarship;
  • Contributions to the field;
  • Stylistic fluidity and narrative quality; and
  • Potential for lasting impact on the history of education.

Please ask your publisher to nominate and send your book to the committee for consideration. The committee will also accept e-books to accommodate authors and presses affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. In order to be considered, review copies of your book must be received by all members of the committee at the addresses listed below no later than April 1, 2023.

Please send all nominations and electronic materials to: HES.BookAward.2022@gmail.com. Hard copies of books to be considered must be sent to the following committee members:

2023 Committee Members

Deirdre Dougherty (co-chair)


2 East South Street

Galesburg, IL 61401


Diana D’Amico Pawlewicz (co-chair)


Center for Civic Engagement, University of Richmond

Attn: Dr. Diana D’Amico Pawlewicz

270 Richmond Way, Suite 325

Richmond, VA 23173


Tondra Loder-Jackson


EEC 306-C

The University of Alabama at Birmingham 

1720 2ND AVE S

Birmingham, AL 35294-4460

Gonzalo Guzmán, PhD


1674 Grand Ave Apt. 3

Saint Paul, MN 55105

Tracy Steffes


183 Medway St.

Providence, RI 02906