Linda Eisenmann Prize

The History of Education Society seeks submissions for the Eisenmann Prize. The $1000 prize is awarded biennially to recognize the most outstanding scholarly work (book, article, electronic contribution, etc.) in the field of the history of higher education in the United States produced by a junior scholar in the immediately prior two years.  Because of the pandemic, we are extending that period to include  works published between March 30, 2019 and March 30, 2022. Nominations may be made by faculty, department chairs, and deans; self-nominations are welcome.

Please email the Chair, Adam Laats, if you intend to submit a book.  He will then send you the addresses of committee members:

If you wish to nominate an article or electronic resource, send a PDF of the article or a link to the electronic resource to Adam at Include a CV of the nominated author with your submission.

All materials must be received by May 15, 2022.

2022 Prize Committee


Adam Laats

Binghamton University, SUNY


Eddie Cole



Joan Malczewski

UC Irvine