Claude A. Eggertsen Dissertation Prize

The History of Education Society is accepting submissions for the Claude A. Eggertsen Prize for the dissertation judged to be most outstanding in the field of history of education. This includes work on schooling and education more broadly, and the dissertation may have a domestic or international focus. The next award will be presented at the 2022 meeting of the History of Education Society. The prize carries an award of $1,000 for the winner. Self-nominations are welcome, as are nominations submitted by dissertation advisors and committee members. Qualified applicants must have completed the dissertation and graduated during the calendar year 2021. The deadline for entries is June 15, 2022. Entrants should send an electronic copy (PDFs preferred) of the complete dissertation to each of the three prize committee members.

If you have questions or need more information, please write to the chair of the committee, Derek Taira, at the email address listed below.

2022 Eggertsen Award Committee


Derek Taira (Chair)

University of Hawai’I at Mānoa



Kevin Zayed

The College of Wooster



Michelle Morgan

Missouri State University